ITIL’s brief history

ITIL was created in the 1980s by the CCTA (Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency) governments of the United Kingdom with the aim of ensuring better use of IT services and resources. In 2000, the CCTA merged into the OGC, the Office for Government Commerce, and in the same year, Microsoft used ITIL as the basis for developing its proprietary Microsoft Operations Framework (MOF). ITIL’s oldest version was initially called GITIM, Government Information Technology Infrastructure Management. Obviously, this was very distinct from the present ITIL, but conceptually very similar, concentrating on service assistance and distribution.

What’s in a Name?

Many individuals believe that the earlier version was called ITIL V3, but that name was never actually used. At the moment, the first three products were all just called ITIL by the developers, but most individuals knew them as ITIL V1, ITIL V2, and ITIL V3.

The Previous Versions of ITIL


ITIL V1 consisted of a big amount of distinct books, each describing a specific process. The first of these books was published in the 1980s and others were published over a period of about ten years.


In 2000 and 2001, ITIL V2 was published. Most individuals only knew about the service delivery and service support journals, which covered 10 key procedures and the service desk. There were also a number of other journals covering application management, infrastructure management, safety, and more.

ITIL 2007 Edition

Everyone called it ITIL V3 when this version was published in 2007, although the publishers later chose to call it ITIL 2007 edition. This edition implemented the concept of a five-stage service lifecycle: service strategy, service design, service transition, service operation, and continuous service enhancement. ITIL 2007 consolidated fields such as application management and infrastructure management, which had earlier been divided into their own journals. It also launched many fresh procedures, with the prior 10 process model now having 26 (or potentially 27) procedures covering the entire lifecycle.

ITIL 2011 Edition

This was a relatively minor release compared to prior updates. Many inconsistencies have been removed and much of the material has been rewritten to make it simpler to read. Probably the most important shift was the introduction of a company relationship management (BRM) method.

ITIL Practitioner

The latest ITIL publication, published in 2016, was ITIL Practitioner. This launched the ITIL Guiding Principles to assist individuals and organizations know how to embrace and adapt ITIL concepts to their own circumstances. In 9 Guiding Principles That Can Help Improve Your Service Desk, you can read an illustration of how these principles can be applied to a service desk.

ITIL Practitioner explained the fundamental importance of service management concepts of value, results, costs, and risks, and showed how they underpin the service concept. It also outlined three key competencies to be developed by service organizations:

Continual improvement

Metrics and measurement

Organizational change management

ITIL 4 Is Next I’m going to update the IT Service Management (ITSM)  with data as things progress – to know more about v3 vs v4 click on this link

Author: Gaurav Arya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *